Lara Wilson

I have been teaching and caring for children and families for 20 years. I have enjoyed working with families not only in Australia but also in England. I have a Bachelor in Early Childhood Education and an Advanced Diploma in Children Services. I joined the Heatherdale team in 2015 teaching three’s and four’s. I have a real passion for the outdoors and really love the natural environment here at Heatherdale Preschool. I am so excited that we have been able to join the Stephanie Alexander Kitchen Garden Shared Table program in 2016.

I really enjoy engaging with children and their families, and seeing the three’s children grow through to the four year old year program and off to school. I believe in a strong play based program, where children are given time to explore and extend on their prior knowledge. I strongly support children being allowed to work through their learning through hands-on enquiry based discussions and projects.

I also have two school aged boys who keep me busy through sport and other various activities. I enjoy singing and compete every second year in a Sweet Adeline Barbershop competing with my chorus. I also love snow holidays with my family.

Megan.jpg

Megan MacLean

I have been teaching and caring for children in their early years for almost 14 years both in Queensland and Victoria.

I hold a Bachelor of Early Childhood Studies, Advanced Diploma Children Services, and my Certificate IV in Training and Assessment. I began my teaching journey at Heatherdale Preschool in July 2016 and teach the Bilbies (4year old group).

I love working in a close-knit community with a natural outdoor space. I have a passion for helping children work through emotions and teaching the importance of recognising our tension and emotions through the use of meditation, yoga and deep breathing.

I really enjoy the challenge of working closely with the families, and wider community from this diverse community. I believe children learn best in a play based environment, that allows time for exploration and thoughts to develop.

I have one son who is heading to high school next year, and I enjoy craft and exploring walking trails with my very energetic son.

Geraldine Andreatta

I have been part of the teaching team at Heatherdale Preschool for over 20 years. I am the educator with the Bandicoots (four year old group) and the Kangaroos, Koalas and Kookaburras (three year old groups). It is a joy to work alongside, and with such a dedicated, passionate and knowledgeable staff.

It is a privilege to be a part of a child‘s learning; to see the world through their eyes; to listen to their unique views on so many different topics; to support their enquiring minds all through a play based program. I go home each day having learnt something new; or with a different perspective and always with a big smile.

I enjoy being a part of a child’s journey and that of their family. Heatherdale is a true community that welcomes families to be a part of the Preschool in many different and varied ways.

I enjoy spending time with my family and friends over a delicious meal, celebrating birthdays and special occasions. I love going to concerts and plays, especially musicals. I have two adult children, a son and a daughter, and a dog called Mack.

When I am not at Heatherdale or home I can be found at a netball court either coaching or supporting the club I coach for, the team my daughter plays with or the Vixens. My son plays footy and I spend a lot of the winter months cheering him on the football field. I am also a passionate and happy Richmond supporter.

 
Janine cropped.jpg

Janine Kennedy

I have been a co-educator at Heatherdale Preschool since 2012, working with the Bilbies Group (four-year-olds).

I love to share in the children's pride and sense of achievement as they grow throughout their time at the kinder, by teaching them new skills through everyday activities and play. The best part is just having a good laugh with them and enjoying their company.

Outside of work I enjoy a lot of sports including tennis, bike riding and swimming. I used to enjoy netball and basketball, but now my knees hurt too much! I also love camping, especially by the beach. I enjoy craft activities such as scrapbooking, mosaics and sewing. I have two adult daughters in their 20’s.